Button Text! Submit original article. Find out More

Africa Cup of Nations 2019

Africa Cup of Nations 2019

Africa Cup of Nations 2019 is known as the Total 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, is the 32nd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations. The CAF Africa Cup of Nations, officially CAN (French: Coupe d’Afrique des Nations), also referred to as AFCON, or Total Africa Cup of Nations for sponsorship reasons, is the main international association football competition in Africa.

The biennial international men’s football championship of Africa organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF). The tournament is being hosted by Egypt. The competition is currently held from 21 June to 19 July 2019, as per the decision of the CAF Executive Committee on 20 July 2017 to move the Africa Cup of Nations from January/February to June/July for the first time.

It will also be the first Africa Cup of Nations expanded from 16 to 24 teams. The tournament was initially scheduled to be hosted by Cameroon.

Cameroon would have hosted the competition for the first time since 1972. They were also the title holders after winning the previous edition. On 30 November 2018, Cameroon was stripped of hosting the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations due to delays in the delivery of infrastructure, the Boko Haram insurgency and the Anglophone Crisis.

See also  Africa Cup of Nations 2019: Nigeria Look Forward Winning Burundi

On 8 January 2019, Egypt was chosen by the CAF Executive Committee as the host nation of the competition.

The tournament was also moved from the original dates of 15 June – 13 July to 21 June – 19 July due to Ramadan.

List of Qualified Teams and Team nicknames for the Africa Cup of Nations 2019

Egypt – The Pharaohs

Madagascar – Barea

Tunisia – Eagles of Carthage

Senegal – The Lions of Teranga

Morocco – Atlas Lions

Mauritania – Lions of Chinguetti

Burundi – The Chayfs (The Swallows)

Algeria – The Desert Foxes.

Guinea – National Elephants

Uganda – The Cranes

Mali – The Eagles

Nigeria – The Super Eagles

Ivory Coast – The Elephants

Kenya – Harambee Stars

Angola – Giant Sable Antelopes (or just Sable Antelopes)

Cameroon – The Indomitable Lions

Ghana – The Black Stars

Guinea-Bissau – Djurtus

Namibia – Brave Warriors

Zimbabwe – The Warriors

DR Congo – The Leopards


Benin –  The Squirrels

Tanzania – Taifa Stars/Kilimanjaro Stars

South Africa – Bafana Bafana

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
Enable Notifications    OK No thanks